Yeah, I’m still here

March 19, 2010

Don't care if they're grocery store frozen shrimps. They're still shrimps.

Didja miss me? Huh? Huh? Didja?

Well, hell, you could’ve lied about it. To make me feel better, with my broken arm and all.

Yeah, didn’t think that ploy would work. Oh, well.

Haven’t been cooking, in part because the arm doesn’t allow much leeway and in part because I’ve been out for business dinners, of which, more later. And I’m not cooking tonight, although I AM eating at home.

Hey, it works. It sounded like what I wanted. And it’s just one of those Kroger frozen shrimp rings, $5.99 on special with your Kroger card, but the sauce was a reasonable base for spicing up with some extra horseradish, Tabasco and Worcestershire.

Dessert was some really good Honeysuckle Lane aged white cheddar from the PJF people, and some of those chocolate cream drops known by a politically incorrect name in decades past.

Worked for great-granddaddy. Works for me.

Don’t knock it if ya ain’t tried it.

Discovered that my new favorite red wine, Coppola Rosso, doesn’t hold but a couple of nights after you open it. So I made myself a Bloody Mary. Which I did not photograph. Deal with it.

Dinners out. Wednesday was Italian at Pompeii. I had manicotti in Neapolitan sauce, nothing groundbreaking, but a simple dish, well executed. Though I’m disturbed by an Italian restaurant that doesn’t serve a caprese salad.

Thursday was Ferneau, in Little Rock, where I had grilled grouper with a pineapple ginger salsa that was really excellent over a “riceless risotto” that was, well, odd. It was sort of a slurry of minced veggies in a vaguely creamy sauce that did sort of put one in mind of a risotto except, well, it had no rice.

The key lime/vanilla bean creme brulee was pretty awesome, though.

I gots to go to Memphis this weekend; not sure if it’ll be tomorrow or Sunday. Very possibly Sunday. Got a doc appt. Monday. I am SO sick of doctors.

And for now, I’ve said about all there is out there to say. I’m gonna watch some hoops. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a good weekend.

2 Responses to “Yeah, I’m still here”

  1. Cathe Patton Says:

    Well, actually, yes! I always miss your “cleverness” and endless wit, when you don’t post! 🙂 So, I will join you in being forever grateful when ye ole’ cast comes off and you are back at the stove again! Love ya’, Cat

    Bless your heart! Glad I’ve got a fan or two out there….Thanks, darlin’!

  2. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Good to see you yesterday. Love keeping up with you on the web. Keeps me and Trish laughing. Hope your arm gets to feeling better. see ya Pam C.


Leave a Reply

