Semi-success, with casualties

March 13, 2010

Note: One should not cook pasta in one’s cast iron Dutch oven when one has a broken arm. Sumbitch hurts to pick up.

I did manage to cook champorado for breakfast and Szechuan noodles for dinner. Not well, but I managed. I have enough champorado left over to eat breakfast much of the week, and the kid will have Szechuan noodles for a few lunches. Going to get her to help me cook something tomorrow night; yet to be determined what. But not rendang, which takes too long to cook.

The Szechaun noodles are a Lynne Rossetto Kasper recipe from her Weeknight Kitchens weekly e-newsletter. They’re good, except that significant pain in my arm has had the impact of blunting my appetite. Anyway, here’s Lynne’s recipe:

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Asian chili-garlic sauce (I used Thai)
  • 1-1/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • Salt
  • 1 pound fresh Chinese noodles or linguine
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

1. Bring 4 quarts water to boil in large pot. Meanwhile, combine pork, 2 tablespoons vinegar, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, and chili-garlic sauce in bowl. In another bowl, whisk broth, peanut butter, oyster sauce, remaining vinegar, and remaining soy sauce.

2. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add pork mixture and cook until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Stir in ginger and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add broth mixture and simmer until slightly thickened, about 4 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, add 1 tablespoon salt and noodles to boiling water and cook until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup cooking water, drain noodles, and return to pot. Add sauce and toss to combine, adding reserved pasta water as needed. Sprinkle with cilantro and serve.

I went pretty much by the recipe except I didn’t have any fresh cilantro. Child C and CCRB liked it. And I did not take pictures because my arm hurt too badly and I didn’t feel like it. Sue me.

I’m gonna drink wine and take pain pills and read. You and y’mama ‘n ’em can come clean up my kitchen if you want to, because I can’t freakin’ do that, either.

Leave a Reply

