Sunday this-n-that cookery

February 28, 2010

Not cooking dinner tonight, so this morning has been a collection of cooking assorted stuff for the week.

Like this:

Bran muffins with figs and walnuts. Breakfast love.

And this:

Sausage and biscuits. Likewise, breakfast love.

And finally, this last one here:

Pimento cheese. I love me some pimento cheese on a Ritz cracker.

That’s the first pimento cheese I’ve made in forever, because Children A and B are my pimento cheese eaters. Child C won’t touch it, because she became acquainted with pimento cheese via the nasty grocery store stuff in the plastic tub that her father used to buy. And that stuff is absolutely disgusting and I don’t blame her for hating it, but I do wish she’d try the real thing.

On the other hand, CCRB, who had never HAD pimento cheese and who is a suspicious taster if ever I saw one (this is the kid who doesn’t eat veggies except for french style green beans), looked at it suspiciously but tried it because I took it to her and made her feel guilty. She pronounced it good and took it to work with her.

There are as many ways of making pimento cheese as there are Southern cooks. I had no idea pimento cheese was a Southern thing (“thang,” if you will) until I mentioned it to a couple of Yankees who looked at me with absolute befuddlement.

Sigh. Makes you wonder how we could have lost the damn war.

Anyway. I make my pimento cheese like this:

  • 1 cup grated monterey jack
  • 1 cup grated Velveeta
  • 1 small jar diced pimento peppers
  • 1/2 cup, or thereabouts, Hellman’s mayonnaise (Don’t be using any other kind. It won’t work.)
  • About 1/4 tsp. Lawry’s seasoned salt
  • About 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • About 1 scant teaspoon sugar

Stir all that up together. Serve it on Ritz crackers (I prefer the whole wheat kind, myself), or toast if you want a big sandwich. I have a friend who swears by it on hamburgers; can’t say I’ve ever tried that, but it ought to work.

I got this batch a little too mayonnaisey, and I think I may not have gotten quite enough cayenne in it. I may need to go back and add more cheese, and more pepper. You can do that with pimento cheese, easily enough.

Lots of people make it with all cheddar, some with a mix of sharp and mild. I like the Velveeta in mine. I’ve known people who did it with all Velveeta; I don’t care for that. Some people don’t put cayenne; I started doing that after I tasted the PC from the Holiday Ham store in Memphis, which Child A raved about.

One of these days, just for the hell of it, I think I’m going to try it with a mix of cheddar and something off-the-wall like Gruyere.

In any event, we now have breakfast for the week, as well as sandwich makings.

No cooking tonight because the Purple Cow, a Little Rock restaurant, is having its soft opening in Hot Springs and feeding the Chamber employees and board members free food. And I like me some Purple Cow.

Purple Cow does grown-up burgers and sandwiches, a nice brunch, and an extensive soda fountain lineup, along with lots of kiddie fun and, of course, purple ice cream (from the Purple Cow). Good mix of a place the kids love to go and the adults can have a good meal. ┬áSo Child C and I are going to eat burgers, or whatever else strikes our fancy. You gotta love a place where you can get your burger with grilled onions, grilled mushrooms, avocado, blue cheese, and all kinds of stuff like that. And they have Monte Cristos for brunch. (Wonder why they don’t do them all day? I love me a Monte Cristo.)

If you’re around Central Arkansas and haven’t tried Purple Cow, I highly recommend it. Check out their menu on their website, http://www.purplecowlr.com/purple_cow_little_rock_menu.php. I’ll try to remember to take the camera and take pictures for you and y’mama ‘n ’em to drool over.

One Response to “Sunday this-n-that cookery”

  1. susan Says:

    Now Mama. You know that on the Eastern side of the south we’re right beholdin’ to our Dukes Mayonnaise. So don’t go being a mayo hater.

    And for the bugers, you have to slip it inside the patty before you put it on the grill so it melts right.

    I’ve also started making a grilled pimiento cheese sandwich.


Leave a Reply

