Cooking again. A little.

February 26, 2010

I did actually cook last night. Sorta. I made tomato soup and grilled cheese and bacon sandwiches, and they were damn good, thankyouverymuch. And tonight is going to be meatballs in bolognese sauce, with risotto (because I just don’t feel like pasta) and maybe even some roasted carrots.

And today at lunch I ate a brussels sprout that I liked.

My friend Kate and I went to Cafe 1217, about which you have read in this blog before. First time I’d been in a while, though I’d swung by two or three times to get their tomato soup to go.

She had a southwestern BLT with avocado and a cup of broccoli soup. I had a sampler salad, where you get three of their prepared salad offerings and some lettuce. I picked sesame snow peas, BLT potato salad, and brussels sprout slaw. And it was pretty good. It had a kinda honey mustardy type dressing on it, but with more than your basic honey mustard in it. And it had other stuff in it; I’m not sure what all it was, but it was good. I think that may be the first time I’ve ever eaten an uncooked brussels sprout, or rather, a pile of shredded up ones. They taste like they look — a kinda mild baby cabbage.

Speaking of which, I’ve got a head of red cabbage in the fridge. And kielbasa in the freezer. I’m thinking we may have red cabbage and kielbasa in mustard cream sauce and German potato salad this weekend. Because we can. And it sounds good, and I have Riesling.

But back to lunch. The sesame sugar snaps were excellent, and oh-so-simple — blanched, shocked, chilled, dried, tossed with sesame oil and maybe just a tiny bit of soy sauce, and sprinkled with sesame seeds. The one thing I might have done differently was add a little mirin.

The BLT potato salad was, well, BLT potato salad. It had bacon, and mayo, and chunks of tomato, and shredded lettuce; a little bit of mustard, some unobtrusive but tasty seasonings. In short, it was good.

Made some of that Pioneer Woman sherried cream of tomato soup last night. That stuff’s so good it makes you want to take a bath in it. Grilled cheese with grated colby, monterey jack and Roustica, with slices of crispy slab bacon, on sourdough. Nothing wrong with that.

So in any event, I’ll check in with y’all after while, if we don’t decide to get up after dinner and go out and hear CeDell Davis, since he’s 83 and won’t be around all that much longer and he can flat play the slide guitar and the harp. But there’s time yet to decide on that.

Whatever you and y’mama ‘n ’em decide to do tonight, y’all have a good time and be safe.

Leave a Reply

