I ain’t so sure about this

February 14, 2010

I have now cooked lamb shanks. See?

Not bad, for a maiden voyage. Not great, but not bad.

They were … OK. A really nice texture; tender, toothsome. The slightly gamy flavor I expected. I really think it was the treatment that just didn’t hit it for me.

I salted, peppered, browned two shanks, about 2 3/4 pounds’ worth. One big one, one small one, would have been about right for one big eater and one average eater, except that I was eating them by myself. (So I have significant leftovers.)

I set them out of the pan, then sauteed some onion, garlic, carrots. Put the shanks back in. Poured on about a cup and a half of red wine, and a cup of beef broth. Added herbes de Provence. Simmered for a couple of hours. Served it over polenta with pecorino.

I think it was the herbes de Provence that just didn’t do much for me. That was the first time I’ve ever used herbes de Provence, and it has purple stuff in it. There’s just something a little hinky about seasoning with purple stuff. But Bon Appetit said it was good. And it wasn’t BAD. It just wasn’t wonderful.

I think, too, I’d have liked it better with some sort of tomato-based sauce, maybe a bolognese. I could see it being wonderful with lots of diced tomatos, that red wine, some basil and some oregano and some fennel.

Really hurt me to throw the bone away. Lucy could’ve had a great time with that bone. But when I contemplated just how much territory she could have covered with that bone….Nah.

Oh, and earlier? Blueberry muffins. Thusly:

A good use for blueberries you got on sale that are about to go south.

They are based on my standard vanilla muffin recipe, which is the Peabody Hotel’s vanilla muffin recipe, which is so simple as to be insane but lends itself to any kind of muffin you want to make. I’ve subbed almond for the vanilla, added poppy seeds, and it makes a hellacious almond poppy seed muffin.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries

Sift together dry ingredients. Whisk together wet ones. Mix wet with dry with a spoon, just until blended. Fold in blueberries (or whatever add-in you’re using). Baked in greased muffin tins at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

I’m packed, except for my briefcase; need to pack that tonight and get a shower and an early night to bed. Got to get outta here at an early hour in the morning. Ick.

Check in with you and y’mama ‘n ’em when I get back.

One Response to “I ain’t so sure about this”

  1. Cathe Patton Says:

    Kay, Have a safe trip. I will be thinking about you. Cat


Leave a Reply

