Lazy bread

February 6, 2010

Sucks when your yeast is, well, not yeasting.

I had an urge for yeast bread. You will recall that last weekend, I made sweet potato bread, and complained because it did not rise as I thought it should. Well, today, I was searching for a brioche recipe, because I wanted that eggy, buttery bread. All the brioche recipes I found called for making the sponge, then the dough, then refrigerating it overnight. Screw that noise. I wanted something NOW.

So in the Lee Brothers Southern Cookbook, I found a recipe for Sally Lunn bread. It looked sufficiently brioche-y. Had a stick of butter, three eggs.

Heat the milk, it says, and dissolve the yeast. I heated, no hotter than the specified 105 degrees (I could stick my finger in it; it was warm, but not hot). Dissolve the yeast. Wait 5-10 minutes for it to bubble. I waited. It didn’t bubble. This should have been a clue.

I went ahead on anyway. Bad move.

Dough didn’t rise. Put it in the pan. Dough didn’t rise. Put it in the oven. Dough didn’t rise. Bread is leaden. Has a great taste, though.

So I’m off to the grocery to pick up a few things, among them a new batch of yeast, as the other is now In The Trash.

And I’ll make bread tomorrow, because, like last week’s drain, I am On A Mission.

See you and y’mama ‘n ’em later. I got things to do.

One Response to “Lazy bread”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Who was Sally Lunn, and why did they name a bread after her?

    Inquiring minds want to know.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

