Random stuff (in the kitchen)

January 12, 2010

Once again, I find myself with little or no cohesiveness in what I’m cooking. In fact, I know I have no desire to eat one of the dishes that’s completed — a vat of mac and cheese for Child C and her running buddy, which they can take to work for the rest of this week if they desire.

Oh, speaking of children — Child A has read my blog, and commented! Proud of ya, kid. She’s also requested chocolate oatmeal cookies, (the “fudgey cookies” of the pre-Christmas goodie binge), which, being a Good Mother, I shall make for her. And hopefully do a better job than on the last ones, which I cooked too long.

So I cooked mac and cheese, announced it was ready, and it has not moved off the stove. She’ll come out, eventually; probably went to sleep. My mac and cheese, which the kids all love, except Child B, who can’t eat it but used to love it before she learned she was gluten intolerant, is another one of those recipes at which my foodie friends would turn up their noses.

  • 1 pound elbow macaroni
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar or co-jack (tonight is co-jack)
  • 1 cup grated or diced Velveeta (about a third of a two-pound box)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup half and half
  • 1/2 stick butter

Look, I never told you this stuff was healthy. You got cholesterol probs? Don’t make this.

Boil the macaroni in salted water until done; drain and return to pan. Over low heat, add 1/2 cup cream, the butter and the cheese and commence stirring. You may or may not need the extra cream; depends on how dry it looks.

That’s it. If I want to be fancy, I add the extra cream, put it in a baking dish, sprinkle the top with cheese and bread crumbs, and bake it. Generally, I don’t, because I’m generally cooking it for Child C and she doesn’t care, so why dirty another dish and heat the oven?

Anyway, it’s pretty bland and I’m damned if I see what all the attraction is, but they sure love it. Go figger.

I tasted, finally, the veggie and wheatberry salad I made Sunday. It ain’t half bad, cold; would be better warm or at room temp, which I may do. I think I like wheatberries. But I don’t think that’s what I want, either.

For some reason that I’m not really sure what it is, I’m sauteeing root veggies for an experiment — a sesame carrots and celeriac recipe, to which I added jicama, because, well, I had one. I have never tried to cook either a jicama or a celery root; I’m not sure what possessed me to grab them at the grocery. (For the record, I have used jicama in salads; it’s not bad. Envision a cross between a potato and an apple.)

So, those are sauteeing. And I don’t think that’s what I want, either. I think I had vague ideas of using part of them to add to the root veggies and wheatberry salad, because it’s heavier on wheatberries than it is on veggies. Don’t have a clue in hell what I’ll do with the rest of it.

Celeriac, by the way, is an ugly sumbitch. Sort of the Orc of the vegetable world. All knobby with warts and things. And also? It has a very, very strong celery smell about it when you hack it up and peel it. (Oddly, for a hard root vegetable, it peels easier than it hacks. Go figger.) I don’t know what I expected it to smell like — onions, maybe? Or periwinkles? Do periwinkles smell? So I’m thinking the celeriac may not have been a real good idea. Plus, I didn’t read the recipe very closely, and I didn’t let my butter brown before I threw the veggies in, mostly because I was running out of room to cut them up on the cutting board and I didn’t want to fool with dirtying a bowl. I’m insufferably lazy.

So, it’s sauteeing. And when it’s crisp-tender, it gets a tablespoon of sesame oil and a tablespoon of lemon juice and some salt. We shall see.

Dinner may be a reprise of last night, which was microwave popcorn. Or I may warm up a bowl of chili. And look for a sense of direction in my life, if not in my kitchen. If you and y’mama ‘n ’em see me wandering around lost, turn me around and head me home, wouldja?

One Response to “Random stuff (in the kitchen)”

  1. kath the cook Says:

    hey – I remember you’re jonesing for comments…just want you to know, I read your blog all the time – really enjoy it!

    Both my Mom and Dad were from Louisiana and I really love your “you n’ ya mama” sign-offs. Just keep it up – maybe I’ll start a blog one day.

    I have recently made chili (pretty good) and beef vegetable soup (very good) – nothing like a little gorgonzola toast to go with! best and happy new year – kath
    Thanks for stopping by! Glad you’re enjoying, and hope you (and y’mama ‘n ’em) find some stuff you want to try.

    Do the blog. You’ll have a ball!


Leave a Reply

