Arkatalian soup

December 9, 2009

NOTE: Bonus post here, because I wrote it before I left town and never put it out on the blog for some reason. Possibly because I was not finished with it, but by now I don’t remember what else I was gonna say.

G00d soup, though.

Because, well, you know, I just like to futz around with recipes.

And I like white beans, and white beans seem like one of those things you ought to cook when it’s cold (gonna be 29 here tonight — brrrr). So I’d been looking at all kinds of white bean soups that had Italian sausage in them, because I like me some Italian sausage.

Most of the recipes called for kale, or escarole, or spinach, and I crossed those things off the list fairly early, because I do NOT like me some cooked greens, and it sounds like a helluva fine way to screw up some perfectly good beans and sausage.

So here’s what I came up with, as well as I can remember:

  • 2 cans cannellini beans, drained, divided
  • 3 cups chicken stock, divided
  • 1 can petite diced tomatos
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 3 hefty cloves garlic
  • about 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 pound Italian sausage

I put the broken-up sausage in the saute pan to brown. While it was doing so, I dumped one and a half cans of the drained beans, the tomatos, 2 1/2 cups of the stock, and the basil and oregano on to start simmering. I took the remaining beans and stock and pureed them with the immersion blender (Lord, but I love that little gadget), and then diced the onions and the garlic and the carrots. Added the cooked sausage to the pot, then sauteed all the veggies in the little bit of fat left from the sausage, plus some olive oil, and added those. Let it simmer a little while, and added the blended beans/stock as a thickener.

And it is simmering away on the stove, scenting and warming the house, while I enjoy a glass of Saurus malbec and wait for it to be closer to ready so I can make myself some cheese toast to go with it (I think I’ve got either romano or asiago in the fridge.

I would love to try this with some of that cured Spanish chorizo and a little saffron and some rosemary. And a little lemon juice. Bet it’d be good with kielbasa and caraway, too. Because you know, there’s not much that doesn’t go well with a white bean.

If I had it to do over again, I’d probably use three cans of beans, and puree an entire can. The recipe is just flexible enough you could do about anything you wanted to with it. I’m thinking you could do it with leftover Thanksgiving turkey, if you wanted to. Or Christmas ham.

I have also learned that Lucy-the-mooch-pooch will eat (a) a quarter of a garlic clove, (b) a slice of onion, or (c) a baby carrot if it hits the floor. Dog’s breath is ROUGH by now, I can tell you.

Leave a Reply

