Chili minus

November 29, 2009

I think I’m going to call it “Needy Chili.” Because it needs…..something. And I’m not sure what.

On paper, it looks like it’s got all it needs, or wants. Cubed chuck roast. Onions. Garlic. Tomatos. New Mexico chile paste, ancho chile powder, and a chipotle in adobo. A bottle of beer. Water. Cocoa. A pinch of cinnamon.  Black beans, and whole kernel corn. Masa harina to thicken the whole thing.

But it’s missing something. Nice play of chile flavors (I may add an arbol to the mix after it cools and blends flavors a bit), but it’s missing a deep bass note. I’m thinking I may add some bouillon base, and maybe some smoked paprika. But I’ll worry about it tomorrow.

I did hit it squarely up against the fence with the fried sweet potatos, though; just sweet potatos, peeled, fried in a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil, dusted with some paprika and some seasoned salt. Yum!

Th-th-that’s all for tonight, folks. Not in a blogging mood. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a nice evening.

 

One Response to “Chili minus”

  1. Wayne Says:

    Kay, with your chili, try a little cumin (cumino). I think that might give you the flavor you are looking for. 5 Dec


Leave a Reply

