Thanksgiving menu planning

November 21, 2009

Sitting in Memphis at my children’s godmother’s house, babysitting her after some minor surgery. Will be here until Monday, then flying to Philly for Thanksgiving week at a dear friend’s home. He’s recovering from cancer, so I suspect I’ll cook Thanksgiving dinner at his house.

Let’s see. Thanksgiving. A kitchen that is not mine. A BACHELOR kitchen that is not mine. One guest who’s a vegetarian (his sister). One whose tastes run to chicken strips, pizza and burgers (temporary son from last summer).  One who’s averse to tomatos and peas, and assorted other veggies (the patient). One Italian who eats most anything (his brother-in-law), thank God.

This may be interesting.

I’m thinking the following:

  • Roasted turkey breast, maybe with a nice Italian spice rub.
  • Cornbread dressing. I can make this with vegetable broth, I think, and thus appease the vegetarian.
  • Sweet potato gratin with pecan topping (traditional T’giving dish, vegetarian)
  • Green bean casserole? With golden mushroom soup and french fried onions? I mean, it’s cheesy, but it’s a canonical holiday dish, and it doesn’t require much in the way of complex ingredients.
  • Cranberry salad (because, dammit, I have had cranberry salad for every Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday since I was old enough to eat anything other than baby food, and I don’t intend to stop now)
  • Eggplant and tomato casserole with chickpeas (the vegetarian entree)
  • Pumpkin praline pie (because I found a recipe for it in the newspaper this week and it looks good)
  • Rolls (probably the frozen variety, as I don’t expect to be ambitious enough to make any unless they’re quick rolls)

I might do something with corn, just because corn is good.

That’ll require a minimum of shopping for things like spices, of which I’ll use a little and the rest will go bad; most things are fairly simple and/or can be made ahead. And I’ll have leftover turkey I can use in turkey spaghetti or hash on Friday; can make up a batch before I go home Friday evening.

I suspect I’ll also make some chili, or maybe some butternut squash soup, to feed the hordes while I’m there. May make chicken pot pie, as temporary son liked it when I did it in Arkansas. And I’ll pick up carryout from the Austrian Village one night.

This weekend, for my friend, I brought the leftover beef bourguignon from the staff retreat, that’s been residing in my freezer until I had to get it out to make room for the horde of frozen pizza and Hot Pockets for Child C. Think I’ll just put that with some mashed potatos and some kind of veggie today. Should be good recovery food. And we’ll cook….something….on Sunday; we’re going to the Orpheum to see Cirque Dreams Holidays Sunday night.

Will report as I have time. Meanwhile, you and y’mama ‘n ’em have a lovely Thanksgiving Week, and be sure and hit the sales bright and early Friday morning.

Leave a Reply

