It must be the weather

October 25, 2009

There’s something about fall that makes me just want to cook. This morning, I’ve fried up a pound of sausage (I LOVE the farmer’s market sausage!) and a half-pound of Petit Jean peppered ham, baked a big batch of biscuits to compile breakfasts for the next several days, and made my breakfast:

The money shot. Damn, I love a runny egg yolk. That's fig preserves on the biscuit.

The money shot. Damn, I love a runny egg yolk. That's fig preserves on the biscuit.

Commercial message for which I am not being paid: That Petit Jean peppered ham? Those folks up there in Morrilton, AR, some 60 miles north of me, have it RIGHT. The hams are cured with a thick coating of cracked black pepper, salt, some cinnamon, and other stuff I can’t identify. When it gets boned, to squash it up into ham-like ovals, some of that peppered outside gets rolled to the inside, meaning you’ve got the peppery goodness all up in the middle of that piece of meat. I don’t know how far they distribute their products — they’re a regional company — but if you can’t get it in your supermarket or specialty foods store, you can order it here: http://www.petitjeanmeats.com/. It ain’t cheap….but it’s worth every penny. (Their peppered bacon, btw, makes a bacon cheeseburger that will make your eyes roll back in your head.)

Petit Jean Meats is not to be confused with Petit Jean Farms, the even-more-local outfit from which I get my country sausage at the farmers’ market. I thought originally it was the same outfit. It is not. This guy’s sausage is better than Petit Jean Meats’ sausage. His bacon, however, is not; I’ll put my money on Petit Jean or Wright’s thick-sliced, slab bacon any time.

The grits from last night are greatly improved by setting up in a loaf pan, slicing about 3/4 inch thick, and frying in hot sausage/ham fat. With an over-easy egg on top. Honey. That’s so good it’ll hurt you. The grits were a little soft, something that will be greatly improved by letting them “cure” out of the loaf pan, in the fridge, and dry out some; wish I had done that last night. It took me about half the loaf before I got four respectable fried “planks” out of the saute pan.

When I was a kid, there was a lady down the road from us who had chickens who, with some degree of regularity, laid double-yolked eggs. It was always a big treat when you got one of those. I wish I could figure out how to make chickens produce them regularly; I’m a whole lot more fond of egg yolk than I am egg white. And since I have the cholesterol level of a 16-year-old, I can eat all the freakin’ egg yolk I want. (May not have taken much else from my Daddy, but I got his good cholesterol. Thanks, Dad!) Because there’s just not enough runny egg yolk in one egg to sufficiently saturate all the grits I wanted to eat.

I was debating whether to make lentil sausage soup or a tagine of chicken with preserved lemons for this evening. Given that it’s almost 1, and I have to shower and be somewhere by 2 that will keep me there most of the afternoon, I’m thinking I’m going to throw that soup together in the crock-pot and go off and leave it. Updates later.

One Response to “It must be the weather”

  1. valarie Says:

    made me hungry for eggs&ham and Bacon


Leave a Reply

