Heat squared

August 29, 2009

That would be heat from the charcoal, and heat from the chiles.

Sauce makings. I love my blender.

Sauce makings. I love my blender.

These peppers. And garlic. And onion. And assorted spices. And olive oil. All of which were pureed and then thinned down with cider vinegar and water to make the basting sauce for the pork loin that’s marinating away in dry rub while the coals are getting right, outside.

This pork loin:

Eight pounds worth. We will have pork for a while.

Eight pounds worth. We will have pork for a while.

Which, at the point of being photographed, was wallowing happily in a dry rub consisting of onion powder, garlic powder, ancho chile powder, paprika, salt, cayenne and cumin. Oh, and adobo seasoning. And maybe some other stuff; I forget.

The basting sauce has an Anaheim pepper, a Guajillo pepper, ancho chile powder, paprika, cumin, half a sweet onion, six cloves of garlic, some adobo, some pico de gallo seasoning, a half cup of olive oil, a half cup of vinegar, and somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup of water.

By my calculations, this baby should be done somewhere around 6:30, it being about 12:30 when I put it on. I’m making Sunday beans, rice, we’ve got left-over potato salad, and I’ll make a black bean and corn salad as well.

Updates later. You and y’mama ‘n ‘em enjoy your Saturday.

Later: Well, once again, no photos of the finished product, because I forgot. It was good, though. Plenty of pork, some burned bits on the outside. Not too hot. Good smoke flavor. It didn’t need sauce, which was a  Good Thing, as my first attempt at making barbecue sauce sucked. Out loud.

The Sunday Beans, from recipe from the Dominican Republic via Joe Quintana and his restaurant, Comida Central in New York, are as follows:

Sunday Beans

  • 4 ounces slab bacon, diced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, peeled and diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 medium red pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 3 (151/2-ounce) cans red kidney beans, drained
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

1. Heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil and, a few moments later, the bacon. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the fat has begun to render out of the bacon and the meat is beginning to crisp, about 5 minutes.

2. Lower the heat to medium and add the onion, garlic and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables have softened, 5 to 7 minutes.

3. Add the cumin and coriander. They will absorb the heated oil in the pan and grow fragrant. Stir for 1 to 2 minutes and then add the juices. Raise the heat to high until the mixture begins to simmer, then lower the heat and reduce to 2/3 of its volume. Taste and adjust the seasonings.

4. Stir in the beans. After 5 minutes stir again, then taste and adjust the seasonings. (The mixture can keep, softly bubbling on the stove, for hours. Add a little juice or water if necessary. Stir occasionally.) Serve with white rice. Serves 8.

Two notes to the recipe: I think two tbsp of cumin is too much; I used one. And it’s better to use unsweetened pineapple juice off a can of pineapple, unless you have a juicer and want to juice your own. I also prefer to use those little cans/bottles of unsweetened orange juice, as that in the carton seems to be too sweet.

For the rice, I added a half-tsp cumin, some orange zest, a pinch of turmeric, salt and a bay leaf to the rice cooker. along with the rice and water.

I have not yet made up my mind what tomorrow’s meal will be. I’d thought about German, but I’m not sure I want to get that heavy. We’ll see how we feel tomorrow. Meanwhile, I’m about to head to bed. Tell y’mama ‘n ‘em I said g’night.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers

